The Second Cup
The Second Cup Show
Episode 8: He Knows Your Name with Paige Allen
3
0:00
-52:17

Episode 8: He Knows Your Name with Paige Allen

Yes, YOU!
3
Transcript

No transcript...

Do you remember being a kid and playing outside in the cold?

You’re vaguely aware that your hands are raw and your nose is dripping, but you’ve gotten used to it and so you keep playing, until someone finally calls you in. It’s not until you kick off your boots and feel the warmth of the kitchen that you realize just how cold you really were.

Well, this episode is kind of like that—coming inside after playing out in the cold for a long time.

I don’t know about you, but when it comes to living & loving & creating & dreaming in this big ‘ole world, sometimes I feel like I’m out there playing in the cold. I find myself asking questions like, “Does my day-to-day even matter?” and “Am I doing enough with my life?”

Sometimes I panic and think, “NO! IT DOES NOT, AND I AM NOT!” Then I try to strong-arm my dreams into existence. I try to prove my worth.

It’s exhausting out there. And cold.

But in today’s conversation, it feels like Paige is standing at the doorway of the warm kitchen, saying, “Come in! You’ve been out there too long.”

And so I hope you will.

We talk everything from redefining the constructs of success to the woes of self-promotion.

Paige shares about her 9-year journey to a deal for her book, “He Knows Your Name,” and what she learned after meeting Miss India and some of the country’s most impoverished women—in the same day.

We discuss whether God looks at Instagram #s and how we can reframe the way we see rejection.

And, the part I love best: Paige shares a very practical strategy for feeling (not just knowing about) Jesus’ love for yourself.

So come on in. If you’ve been playing in the cold for a while, too, this one’s for you.

Oh, a p.s.?

I am giving away a copy of He Knows Your Name: How 7 Nameless Women of the Bible Reveal Christ’s Love For You.

Do you want to maybe win it? Just comment “YES” below and I’ll put your name in a hat! I’ll announce the winner in next week’s letter!

Share The Second Cup

Leave a comment


SHOW NOTES

Paige’s website

Connect with Paige on Instagram

Connect with Deidre on Instagram

Get a copy of Paige’s book, “He Knows Your Name: How 7 Nameless Women of the Bible Reveal Christ’s Love For You.”

3 Comments