The Second Cup
The Second Cup Show
Episode 7: Prayer as a Wrestling Match
4
0:00
-59:27

Episode 7: Prayer as a Wrestling Match

A conversation on becoming people who pray & wrestle with God, with Jess Leigh Hanna
4
Transcript

No transcript...

A couple weeks ago I wrote Prayer is Bloody Hard, and almost instantly,

was in my messages asking if she could come onto the show and talk about prayer.

Obviously, the answer was a resounding YES. Jess has been a student of prayer for years, and she shares regular and helpful content about that on her Instagram. Not only that, but she is a beloved contributor for The Truly Co. Magazine and, as the Editorial Content Director for Truly, I can always count on Jess to say something profound and thought-provoking.

So we came together to talk about prayer, and I’d like to point out RIGHT now that if you have preconceived notions that prayer is gentle and soft and timid and hum drum, this is the episode for you.

We talk all about:

  • Misunderstandings we have about prayer—and busting them

  • Creative ways God speaks to us, and learning to listen to him

  • The story of Jacob wrestling with God, and how we can (and should) do the same

  • How our hard & negative feelings (anger, doubt, etc) are NOT sins, and how God wants to hear about them

  • The silver lining of our brokenness

If you have a friend who would love this podcast, please share!

Share

Prayer, I am beginning to believe, is absolutely essential for living our lives to the fullest. And the concept of wrestling with God until we can walk out of that match with increased peace and clarity? I’ve been practicing and it’s changing me. It’s changing my life.

Listen. Try. Let me know how your wrestling is going. And, if you need backup in some area of your life, email me and I’ll wrestle for you, too.

With a lot of love,
D

4 Comments